Trans-Nzoia Residents Seek University Focused on Local Needs


Residents of saboti and Kiminini have called for a university curriculum that addresses the county’s specific needs during public participation forums held today in the sub counties.

The forums, organized by a taskforce established by Governor George Natembeya to spearhead the creation of a public university in the county, saw residents advocate for courses that directly benefit the Trans Nzoia community.

“The county has many problems that a university can help solve through research,” said Josephat Wasike from Saboti. He proposed a focus on studying the area’s abundant rocks to find ways to utilize them for the county’s development.

Chepta’gat Pakachin, another Saboti resident, emphasized the need for courses geared towards farmers. “The university should assist residents in improving crop production through research,” she said.

Accessibility was also a key concern. Residents urged the taskforce to locate the university in a central area with good road networks and water resources.

Sheila Chebet suggested a strong focus on agriculture, proposing a collaboration with Egerton University, known for its expertise in the field, given Trans Nzoia’s status as the country’s “breadbasket.”

In Kiminini, residents applauded the governor’s initiative, highlighting the potential for increased employment and economic growth.

They suggested courses in tourism, agribusiness, information technology, and peace and cohesion.

Professor Masibo Lumala, the taskforce chairperson, assured residents that their input would be incorporated into the final report. He reiterated the group’s commitment to fulfilling its mandate and emphasized the transformative potential of a university for Trans Nzoia.

The public forums continue tomorrow in Cherangany sub-county.
The task force comprises other prominent figures including Professor Battan Khaemba, Professor Caleb Elung’ata, Dr. Hellen Yego (Vice-Chairperson), and Dr. David Wafula Lwangale, youth representative Hosea Sismat Chemche, Dr. Julie Magomere, Professor Bulitia, Julius Kivase, Eliud Wakasiaka Mwichabe (secretary), and Alfred Mang’oli Namwitako.

Post Author

Leave a Reply