County Sets up Sports Council, Moves To Harness All Talents

Uasin Gishu County – the peerless seedbed of athletics – could rule the roost as a multi-sports discipline production line if the agenda of County Sports Council is anything to bank on.

The County Government has moved to form the Sports Council in a bid to, among others, market and unlock the sports talents for the other disciplines. For instance, Uasin Gishu was home to Rivatex and Kenya Cooperative Creameries (KCC) Football clubs which played at the Kenya Premier League going into the millennium.

The County is working to bolster sports, revive ones that faded away and introduce more. The effort to help in making sports profitable is enshrined in Governor Jonathan Bii’s pillar of Youth Empowerment and Talent Development.

Speaking during the County Sports Council elections on Thursday, County Sports Executive, Eng Lucy Ng’endo said the Council will be crucial in marketing and improving talent development in Uasin Gishu County.

“Uasin Gishu is a royal county and prides itself in sports. It is therefore, the Governor’s idea that the council is formed to make Uasin Gishu a powerhouse in as many disciplines, like football, judo, tae kwondo and all the others,” said Eng Ng’endo.

The County Executive said the Council will also come in handy in the formulation of crucial documents such as the Sports Policy as well as informing on calendars and general organization of sports.

Eng Ng’endo also called for accountability, integrity and professionalism in the execution of sports governance, for posterity and growth of sports.

“Let’s disciplined as leaders, let’s be good managers because how we carry and undertake our duties will affect how well the people pick our marketing of a particular discipline.”

Paul Tororei was voted as the chairperson, garnering 45 votes against 30 cast in favour of Joseph Chemuren. The Vice chair’s position went to Philip Maiyo who fetched 26 votes, with Victor Kwambai getting 56 votes to be declared Treasurer.

Joseph Ochieng and Benjamin Omondi, Rosemary Saina and Elizabeth Sareto were elected as members. The voters were drawn from all the sports disciplines. The elected office will serve for three months.

Director of Sports, Henry Mukholwe, his deputy Wilson Koros and Nicholas Busienei, and officers from the sports department attended the voting.

Leave a Reply