Vipasho News

Latest News in Realtime

Emmanuel Maru and Sophia Chepchirchir Wins First edition of the late Agnes Tirop Memorial 10km Race

Emmanuel Maru and Sophia Chepchirchir emerged the winners of the first edition of the 10km race held in memory of the late Agnes Tirop, the world women’s 10km race record holder. The race included 10km cycling race, 1km children race, 3km corporate race among other races.

Tirop Angels being the chief organizers of the event partnered with Adidas Kenya, Rural Women Peace Link, Athletics Kenya, Billy’s Fitness Depot and Koitalel Samoei University College held the race in honor of the late Agnes Tirop and to campaign against Gender Based Violence which was the cause of her death.

“This race, in memory of the Late Agnes Tirop has been faring well and we hope that will help those women going through GBV to break their silence. As for this campaign we pray that justice may prevail and Agnes will be the last to go through this inhumanity. I also urged my fellow women to speak up so that we can stop GBV for good.” Said Viola Cheptoo the chairperson of Tirops Angels.

The athletes’ shared bold memories of the Late Agnes Tirop and mentioned her as person who was relied by both nationally and internationally and they urged those in marriages and other sexual relationships to break their silence whenever they undergo gender based violence

“What motivated me to run in this race is Agnes’ death. I felt bad after Agnes was murdered and before we began the race, there was this car which was branded with the late’s picture. I advise those in marriages or those who are in relationships to find forgiveness in their hearts whenever they are wronged or maybe speak out because a person like Agnes was not a talkative person and if she could have broken the silence about her problems earlier she could have been helped.” Opined Sophia, the champion of the 10km women race.

In the 10km cycling marathon John Kariuki emerged first in the male category while Nancy Debe clinched 1st position clocking 1hr 12mins in the females 10km category. In the males 1km under 7 years category Weldon kimutai emerged victorious while Joan Jepkorir won the females category

Leave a Reply