Vipasho News

Latest News in Realtime

President Ruto Declares Six Vacancies at IEBC

President William Ruto has declared six vacancies at the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC)

In a Gazette Notice dated February 14, 2023, the president declared six out of seven positions open pending the hearing and determination of a case against suspended Commissioner Irene Masit.
“In exercise of the powers conferred by section 7A (2) of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011 as read with paragraph I (I) of the First Schedule to the Act, I, William Samoei Ruto, President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-in-Chief of the Defence Forces, declare vacancies in the positions of—(a) Chairperson; and (b) Five Members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission,” Read the notice.

Chebukati, Guliye, and Molu were appointed on January 18, 2017, seven months before the general election on August 8, 2017.

Three commissioners Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyang’aya, and Francis Wanderi resigned after the creation of a special committee to investigate the conduct of general elections on August 9, 2022.
The president is expected to pick the IEBC selection panel in accordance with the IEBC (Amendment) Bill,2022.

The Parliamentary Service Commission and the Inter-Religious Council, will each forward two names to the panel.

The remaining three slots will be shared by the Political Parties Liaison Committee, Law Society of Kenya, and Public Service Commission.

Section 7A of the Act provides that the office of the chairperson or a member of the Commission shall become vacant if the holder dies, resigns from the office by notice in writing addressed to the President, or is removed from office under any of the circumstances specified in article 251 and Chapters six of the Constitution.

Leave a Reply